Uncategorized

Connected

About a mont ago I changed my habit, and stopped chatting with to my mom who lives in Israel. I didn’t need that closeness any more, and she followed my lead. She didn’t call New York, and didn’t ask me what was going on

I felt a relief, as if I grew up a bit, and didn’t depend on her feedback for anything that happened to me. It felt less self-centered to let her be, and enjoy her routine.

But when Corona arrived I felt a conflict. On one hand I missed her voice, her wisdom; on the other hand I wanted to keep letting her be alone, hear music on TV, and practice chi kung for the elderly from a Youtube a friend had sent her.

It is great fun to remember what a great mother I have without talking to her, only smile and know we are connected forever.

********

As I was writing this post, my mom called, and I read her what wrote.

“Yes,” she said “It’s exactly like that. I missed your voice so much. I had to call.”

Tears streamed down my cheeks.

Nature has mysterious ways to make us happy.

Leave a comment